A Design for a High-End Shoe Store

This past summer in class we were given the assignment of designing a retail store for a high-end clothing or accessories brand. I was assigned the company Jimmy Choo and, lucky for me, I have always admired this brand and the eccentric shoes they create. I began  browsing the company’s website to learn just a little more about who they were as a company and where their ideas came from, and was thrilled to find that I would be designing a store covered in glam that has been creating shoes for royalty and celebrities from their beginning.

My initial ideas started with a classic Hollywood theme; I wanted to showcase the feeling of glamour and tie in the company history as well. I considered reds, black and gold as the color palette as well as chic finishes such as marble. However, when I found myself applying the materials, colors, and finishes, the overall aesthetic seemed a little out of date. Not that it wasn’t beautiful, it just felt a little over-used. So, I sought to find materials that would update the space but keep with the timeless atmosphere I was seeking. I ended up trading the gold for glass and silver finishes that better coincided with today’s Jimmy Choo and included a few large-scale  geometric patterns with intention to modernize the space.

JC Scene 1 Rendered PNG
My design featured a large staircase. What better way to show off the newest pair of heels than to accentuate them with every step? 

Overall, the Jimmy Choo brand embodies the term glamour in all its forms and meanings. With its roots tied in Europe, the brand naturally supports a classic and luxurious style that this retail design parallels. In all its drama, the ambiance of this design is first revealed by its mysteriously dark finishes and classic décor. The timeless, yet updated features of the design speak for the luxury shoe brand – one that never goes out of style and surpasses expectation. Interweaving a combination of royale and clean design, the aesthetic offers an empowered sense of glamour and a playfully daring spirit with a rich color palette and metallic accents that resemble royalty and all the accompanying glam.

Thanks for looking,
Lauryn

Leave a comment